Rony's Independent Tours

Paradise awaits you

Roatan, Honduras

 
Home | Tour Description | Excursions/Rates | Rony's Roatan | Reviews | Book Excursion | Contact
 

 

Rony's Tours Reviews

It's a new year....and a new cruise season. Be sure to check our previous reviews, as well as our past cutomers comments on Cruise Critic and Trip Advisor.

Here are a few reviews from recent guests. Each tour is different but we try to make each one memorable. Please be sure to send us your reviews when you return home, and please post your thoughts on Cruise Critic and Trip Advisor.

Laura May, U.S.A- Mississippi
Hello Rony,
I just wanted to tell you how AWESOME I tour was last week. We were there last Wednesday, May 30th with Carnival and Arnold was our guide. He was the best!
We are interested in flying out next year and staying at Fosters, which is where Arnold took us for some beach time. We are not sure how to book flights from the USA and was wondering if you could help us when the time comes to book which would probably be at the beginninf of 2013. Here's a picture of us with Arnold and Thanks again!! Carnival Conquest, May 23, 2012.



Tammie, U.S.A. Pennsylvania
Good Morning Rony
My daughter and I had a wonderful time in Roatan. Your brother was great!!! We really enjoyed meeting him and getting to know more about the country. He was a lot of fun and made sure my daughter and I were very well taken care of at all times. We can’t wait to come back to Roatan. I will write a review and highly recommend Rony’s Tours on cruise critic and trip advisor. Thanks for everything!! I attached a couple photos for your enjoyment. We had a blast.Thanks Again!!!!Fondly,Tammie ARD. Carnival Liberty, May 23, 2012



Karyn Samuel, U.S.A- Florida
Hi Rony,
We had a great time.
Do you have Steve's email? He was our driver. I would love to send him a note.
I posted a review on TripAdvisor, but it has not been published yet. I have attached just a few of the photos from our trip. My kids loved Steve's young friend, Quinn. (Celebrity Mellenium. April 4th, 2012)



Rob and Debi New Brunswick, Canada"

Hi Rony,

Just wanted to tell you that we did post a positive review on Cruise Critic and Trip Advisor. .

"I found Rony's Tours while researching Roatan online. We hadn't booked a shore excursion from the cruiseline, as there wasn't anything that really suited us. What you were offering seemed to be what we were looking for; and we weren't wrong. Arnold was a friendly, knowledgeable tour guide and we really felt at ease with him right away. He took us all over the island - we were on top of the highest hills and on beaches, through little towns and even to an iguana refuge. We felt we got a good overall tour of beautiful Roatan. We had arranged beforehand with Rony to meet some children from his hometown and we met 6 lovely children and some of their mothers; even a grandmother. We felt privileged to be able to leave them with some school supplies and other little gifts. We had a nice lunch at Rony's mother's restaurant and again we just felt like we were among family. Arnold made several picturesque stops so we were able to take lots of photos. He also made a stop for some souvenir shopping, where we purchased at a very reasonable price a beautiful wood salad bowl with serving dishes made by the women on Roatan. It's a beautiful reminder of a great day. I wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks Rony and Arnold for the best day of our cruise. Norwegian Star, March 27, 2012.



Gloria Raimondi, U.S.A - New York
Hi Rony
I am sorry about my last email. I think it didnt get emailed to you correctly. I just wanted to say as I tried in my last email that our tour with Cameron was great. We really enjoyed it. I dont know if he would remember us but......Cameron took us to a grocery store to buy coffee and asked if I would write to you to let him know what we thought about the coffee. Well we finally had it last night and you can tell Cameron "thank you" from us for having us buy this delicious coffee. It is really good coffee. He also took us to a school to drop off supplies for the children. I attached a picture of me with the children outside the school. I was wondering if you had a name and address where I could send them more supplies. They were so cute I am sorry I didnt bring more but thought maybe I could mail supplies to them. Hopefully you can help me with this. I will get onto cruise critic.com at some point and definitely recommend your tours. After our stop in Roatan we went to Belize and already recommended you to somebody that next day. Maybe someday we will be able to come back to Roatan and go on another one of your tours!!
Thank you again,
Gloria Raimondi. Crown Princess, March 27, 2012

Rick, Sabine, and Cora (Seattle, Washington)
Dear Rony,
we got off the ship in Roatan and met our friendly driver, Arno, right outside the cruise compound for a freestyle tour of the island. He took us around in his car, made a few suggestions for stops, but we were able to stop where we wanted, get out the car whenever we wanted, and do all the things that we wanted to do without waiting around for other people to get on and off the bus. It was great, our favorite stop on the cruise and our favorite tour. We went to the less developed East end of the island, saw the shipwrecks, French Harbor, the Barrier Reef, then did the zipline and the monkey park, and stopped for snorkeling in a beautiful bay before heading back to the ship on the backroads. It was fun, educational, and relaxing. Our guide was very friendly, spoke excellent English, and really went out of his way to accommodate our plans. We had a great day. (Norwegian Spirit, March 22 2012)

Deb, U.S.A - Massachusetts
Rony
we finally reviewed our pictures
I want to thank you so much for taking me to the restaurant where I was able to indulge in Iguana - it was as delicious as you said it would be
Thanks for showing us all around your beautiful island
we had an awesome time.
Here is a photo of Marcia touching an iguana at your urging
We look forward to our next trip to Roatan and spending another day with you
Deb. MSC Poesia, March 13, 2012.


James Julian, U.S.A
Rony - We had a great day in Roatan. We hope to return sometime & stay a while. I attached a picture of us having lunch. I also dropped a nice review for you on TripAdvisor.
Best wishes, Jim Julian. Carnival Legend, March 2, 2012.

 

 

Daniel and Anna Henry, U.S.A - Georgia
I would be glad to give you an A+ recommendation on both of those sites.Cruise Critic is how I learned about you. Here are a couple pics of us @ the monkey stop.
Thanks again.....Daniel & Anna Henry. Norwegian Star, Feb 14, 2012

 

 




Lori O' Rourke, U.S.A, Massachusetts
Great time with Rony's tours zipping at South Shore Canopy in beautiful Roatan. Our tour was professional, safe, and an extraordinary way to learn about the island and culture from someone who actually lives there! Highly recommend using Rony for a well organized and responsible tour company. Celebrity Solstice, Feb 9, 2012

 

 

 


Donald and Jeannie Paxton, U.S.A Missouri (816-651-8207 cell)
Rony personalized our tour perfectly. He is very fluent, and experienced. We had selected several things we might want to do, from his website, including a visit to the children's home. What a memorable experience.
Not wanting to visit the children empty handed, I relied on Rony's excellent advice for bringing some grocery's to the home. The grocery shopping was so much more fun than souvenir shopping, and was a big hit with the kids.
Thank you so much Rony, for the great memories and great pictures. Mariner of the Seas, Dec 7, 2011

 



Charlotte Andrews, U.S.A Michigan
After returning from our cruise, I am happy to say our tour with Jonathon was the highlight of the trip. It included everything I mentioned. I especially enjoyed the information I learned from the museum, Anthony's Key,the grocery store stop, walking on the West End beach, beer at Beaches and the wonderful meal your mother prepared. Jonathan gave us so much information and answered all of our many questions with patience. Thank you to your whole family. Carnival Liberty, Dec 7, 2011

 




Katherine Armstrong, U.S Kentucky
My friends and I got off the cruise ship in Roatan and were greeted by our driver, Lonnie, as we came out of the cruise compound. We did the personal tour and Lonnie took us to the best zipline and to the West End for beach time and snorkeling. We found a boat rental to take us out snorkeling in the West End that actually got in the water with us and took us on a little tour. We went to lunch and then came back to the West End and found that the snorkeling right off the beach was great. It was the best port we visited and I know it was because we had such a great driver! (Norwegian Spirit, April 7, 2011)

 


Sharon Barker, Plano Texas
My friend and I took Rony's private tour this past week and it was a wonderful way to visit this most beautiful island, for a VERY reasonable price. It was just the two of our guide, Miguel, who is related to Rony and us. I think that everyone on the island is related to Rony! LOL We were able to tailor the tour to exactly what we wanted to see. We included the Butterfly Farm (which also had birds and a few other animals) and a short trip to the orphanage. Prior to that, we went to the grocery store and bought snacks for the kids. Also, the store is a great place to buy Honduran coffee very inexpensively. We went to the orphanage, met some of the kids who are just too cute for words. This place is anything but institutional. The kids were adorable and seemed to be truly happy and loved by the ladies working there. It's bright and clean and cheerful. I'll definitely do this again next time I visit Roatan (in 7 months). We saw the homes of the very rich and the homes of the very not so rich. We ended the trip in a small authentic neighborhood restaurant (belonged to Rony's sister or mother or aunt... I tell you everyone is related to him). Great coconut shrimp (and they treated us to a Monkey La La....mmmmmmm good). Unfortunately I forgot my camera on the ship and didn't get any pictures, so I'll have to book another tour with Rony when I'm there in December! Highly recommended! (Celebrity Eclipe, April 7 201



Melinda, Craig, Bill, Linda, Sylvia & Henry from Jacksonville, FL
We have toured Roatan twice with Rony's Tours, in 2009 and again in 2011, with Rony and with his guide Dennis. We communicated by email with Rony to set up our tour. We arrived by cruise ship and easily found Rony waiting for us. We had a fantastic time seeing the island's sights and highly recommend Rony's Tours for a wonderful time. We are a family group of 6 and it was so special to have our own 'personal' tour with a great guide! Thanks again, (Carnival Legend, March 30, 2011)



Pat and Lynn C - Garden City, MI
"Had a Great time on Roatan. I would highly recommend Rony's tours. He met us right at the exit of the Mahogany Bay. Introduced himself & our driver. In less than 5 Minutes, we we're on our way. We spent the day doing exactly what we wanted to do. Would not hesitate to use him again!" (Carnival Legend, March 30, 2011)

 




Sue Bennett, U.S Illinois
Dear Rony, I hope you don’t mind that in our conversations about our trip we now refer to you as ‘Cousin Rony’. We had an amazing vacation with many once in a lifetime experiences along the way, but looking back, I think Roatan was our best day. Jonathan was a wonderful guide, and showed us your beautiful island. He made sure we had time for the things we wanted to do, while still showing us some amazing sites. We took loads of great pictures at the monkey stop, and some good group photos near the resort by the scuba school. Jonathan gave a us a couple of beach options, and we chose the more secluded one. He helped us get beach chairs and snorkel gear for the kids, and showed the dads where to get a beer – everyone was happy !! I would love to get the recipe for the Monkey LaLa drink, but maybe we should leave that as a local Roatan experience!(Carnival Valor, March 30, 2011)


Terrilyn, Caitlin and Courtney. New Port Richey, U.S FL
Upon arriving earlier than planned in Roatan, I had expected our tour guides to not be there since we were early. After following the directions for locating Rony's Tours, we easily found them waiting for us, we were introduced by Rony, to our guide for the day who just happened to be his father Cameron. Traveling alone with my 9 year old twins, I was nervous about this excursion initially, even though I had thoroughly researched Rony's Tours and had read all extremely positive reviews. Cameron was a wonderful tour guide, was informative and extremely helpful, and I was never worried about our safety. Cameron took us to see the monkey's, then on to the Mayan Jungle Canopy Zipline, and then from there to the Mayan Princess Resort to relax at the beach and the pool. He personally made sure we were well taken care of where ever we went. After we spent about 2 hours at the resort swimming and snorkeling at the beach, we made our way outside about 15 minutes earlier than planned and!
I was worried our guide would be nowhere to be seen. I was quite relieved and happy to see him waiting for us in the parking lot. We then went on a nice tour of the rest of the island as we drove back to Mahogany Bay, and we stopped off for some scenic pictures along the way, and still managed to have an hour to shop in the Port before getting back onto the cruise ship. Overall, Roatan was our favorite stop out of our entire cruise and as a single mother traveling with 9 year old twins, feeling safe and secure the entire day gave me complete peace of mind and the ability to be able to relax and enjoy the day while knowing we were in good hands! I would definitely go back to Roatan, and would most definitely recommend Rony's tours! (Carnival Legend, March 18 2011) ?

Sara ( Indiana), Judy ( Louisiana, and Amy (Texas)
Hi Rony. I just wanted to write to you about our private tour last week (Wednesday, March 9th). I cannot even begin to describe what a wonderful experience we had. Now that I have been home for a few days and have reflected on our entire trip I think I can honestly say that our day in Roatan was my absolute favorite. Michael was our guide and he was fantastic !! He gave us a complete tour of the island, took us to the monkey place (which was a blast!!), suggested Half Moon Bay for swimming and snorkling (incredible), babysat our stuff while we were swimming, answered one million questions, and acted as our own personal photographer. We could not have asked for more! The booking, communication, and pick up/drop off at the pier was perfect! I found out about your company through Cruise Critic and I will certainly offer a raving review on that site as well. I am soooo glad that we found you. I would love to visit Roatan again and spend another perfect day on your beautiful island. Thanks so much for everything...and please make sure to give Michael a raise!! :) I'm attaching one picture but please tell Michael that I will have my sister send the one that he took with us...it's on her camera! ( Voyager of the Seas, March 9, 2011) ?

Randy Murdock, Fowlerville Michigan
"We found Rony's Tours when looking for things to do at Isle Roatan. It was a one day stop on our Carnival cruise (our first cruise to celebrate our 30th anniversary), and we were looking for a less crowded activity than offered by the cruise ship. Initially impressed by Rony's honest and down-to-earth web site, we thought we would try it, and signed up for the zip line over the monkey canopy with a trip into the park and the beach. Everything was wonderful, plus lunch at Rony's mother's resturant was simply great. That food was outstanding and reasonably priced. One of our few complaints with our Carnival cruise was you did not have a chance to meet people or get a taste of the local culture - but both were not the case with Rony's services. It was a wonderful day, the service was outstanding and very personable, and very reasonably priced. Our day in Roatan was the most outstanding of our four shore excursions with the cruise.(Carnival Legend, March 4th, 2011)

Michael and Sally, Michigan
Hi Rony,
We found your company on the Internet when we were looking for how to spend our day in Roatan when we arrived on the Crown Princess. We sent you an email and were pleasantly surprised when we got a response from you in less than 2 hours. We wrote the week before we arrived to confirm and again got a very quick response. We really felt comfortable with our choice of tours due to our Internet correspondence. We received a follow-up email message when we returned home from our trip to be sure we were happy with our tour. It shows you really care about providing the best service.

We had a wonderful day on Roatan March 1, 2011. Our driver, Shervin, was very helpful as we toured the island. We enjoyed our chance to choose what we wanted to visit. We managed to fit in both West End and West Bay beaches, which we really enjoyed. It was nice that we had the opportunity to meet you at our stop at Anthony's Key. (See attached picture)

We would recommend your company without hesitation to anyone going to Roatan. Thanks again for a great day! (Crown Princess, March 1st 2011)

Linda Peterson, Missouri, USA
Our day on the beautiful island of Roaton was wonderful. Rony's father, Cameron, was our guide. We visited many parts of the island, and he made sure that we saw the things we had selected prior to our visit. I would highly recommend this service to anyone visiting at this port. We felt safe and welcomed. ( Crown Princess, March 1st (2011) ?

 



Susan, Carly, and Jenny, Eugene, OR
Thank you, Rony! We loved Roatan and had a wonderful day at West Bay! From the first email communication to the trip back to our ship, you exceeded our expectations! Cameron was so friendly and we enjoyed talking with him. We will recommend your services to our friends and if ever we are back on Roatan, we will definitely contact you! Again, thank you so much for a wonderful experience! (Carnival Valor, Feb 16, 2011)

Lynn Sexton
Rony,
Thank you for the great service on our tour of Isla Roatan. It was a pleasure to deal with you. You were quick to respond to my email questions. It was very easy to set up our tour. We loved being able to personalize the tour to our taste and ability level. There was something for everyone aged 23 to 82. The price was very reasonable. Jonathan was knowledgeable, personable, and accommodating. He was so helpful when it came to shopping for the Orphanage. We hope to come again and next time we will stay longer. I would certainly use your services again and recommend you to everyone. (Carnival Valor, Feb 16 2011)



Dale and Candace, Canada
Rony, we loved you Island and your Island tour. We spent the day with Cameron and he showed us a great time. We had to make an emergency bathroom stop and he found us a place right away. We made some scenic picture stops and then capped the tour off with a few hours at Westend Beach. It was very nice. We just wish we could have spent more time on the island but when you are on a cruise ship you have to go when the boat goes. LOL Thanks. (Carnival Glory, feb 10, 2011)



Erin Collins, USA Messouri
"In my opinion, Rony's tours is the best way to experience Roatan! No crowds, no schedule, and total freedom from the cruise ship tours. This winter was my second time with Rony's Tours and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I've always been the one in charge of arranging the tours, and both times my traveling companions have been extremely impressed with Rony's! Nothing but great hospitality and a warm welcome to the island. I strongly recommend the Freestyle Tour for a first class excursion at a fair price. The worst part is leaving Rony and his crew at the end of the day!" ( Crown Princess, Feb 8, (2011) ?

Michelle and Mike Johnson, Lock Haven PA
Rony,
I can't even begin to express to you (and your entire family!!) just how much we enjoyed our day in Roatan!! Your father is such a pleasant gentleman who gave us a very informative and complete tour of the island (I'm sure he thought we should have done more things) but we just really enjoyed touring around the island!! He even took us to a grocery store so I could buy some vanilla and beer!! And the lunch we had at your mother's restaurant? It was fantastic!!! We had ordered ahead of time so we didn't have to wait too long when we got there, I had ordered the fried fish...can I just say, it was by FAR the best fish I have ever had in my life!! Is there any way I can find out what seasonings your mother uses to make it and how she prepares it??? Please?!?!?!? I was expecting a piece of fish with some sort of batter and deep-fried but what I got we WAY better and would LOVE to know how to make that here at home for my husband and I. The fresh salsa was outstanding as well and would love to have that recipe if your mother is willing to share it.

We LOVED your little island and will definitely come back...and will most assuredly look you up when we do!! You hear so many horror stories about booking excursions through independent tours but we had what was possibly one of the best experiences a person could have with your family/company!! Thanks so much for your competence, hospitality and friendliness!!! If there is a particular website other than your own where you would like us to give a review, please let me know what it is and I would be MORE than happy to do so. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future... ( Nowegian Spirit, Feb 3rd, 2011) ?

Sophal and Dan, U.S.A Illinois
Thanks for providing such an awesome tour for Dan and I last week! Roatan is absolutely beautiful, and we really enjoyed lunch at your mom's restaurant (some of the best food we've tasted). The beach you took us to, was also great for snorkeling. Seeing the monkeys was also very neat. We had so much fun feeding, petting and holding them! Not only were you very insightful about your home island, but you had so many entertaining stories that had us smiling. Your tour definitely made us want to come visit again, and we can't wait! You are a great tour guide, Rony! (Celebrity Centyry, Feb 2nd, 2011) ?



Barbara and Richard Blaine, Little Rock AR USA
On Jan. 27th, 2011 my husband and I toured Roatan with Arnold of Rony's Tours. We read about this company on Cruise Critics and were very happy with our day.

We emailed Rony to set up our visit and were happy with the email communication. We decided to do the private tour where we chose exactly what we wanted to do.

We walked off the Norwegian Spirit cruise ship soon after we cleared customs and were met at the predetermined place. We had no trouble finding Arnold, our guide. It was quite a trek uphill to get to the area where he was standing, but we got there just fine.

He took us to see a few sights and then we went to see the iguanas. They were everywhere!

Our favorite stop was visiting the monkeys. They were so much fun. We enjoyed the birds too.

Arnold took us shopping and stopped at a really great Internet shop 10 cents a minute! We also stopped by Bananarama just to see the place. We then saw other parts of Roatan.

He offered to take us to a nice place for lunch, but we decided to return to the ship for a late bite to eat. We had a great visit and were happy with Arnold and Rony's Tours. We were glad that we heard about this company on Cruise Critics and recommend them very highly. (Norwegian Spirit, Jan 27, 2011)

Emily Arielle and Tyler, U.S.A Michigan.
Hi Rony, Just wanted to thank you for the fabulous service you provide to your visitors to Roatan. I am so happy that we chose your company. Michael, our driver, was right were he said he would be when we got off the ship. He gave us a first class tour of the island and then took us to the most beautiful and secluded beach with a Tiki bar. We were able to relax in the sun, enjoy swimming in beautiful waters and drink cold beer all afternoon. What a relaxing day!

Michael was full of great information about Roatan and very kind. Thanks again for helping to make our vacation memorable!( Jan 27, 2011, Norwegian Spirit)

Barb and Urb, U,S Florida
Hi Rony, We had a wonderful time with Arnorl, he told us about the Roatan way of life, showed us beautiful scenery, took us to see the monkeys and parrots and to West Bay Beach where we had a great meal and drinks. I only wish we had more time to spend at Roatan and with Arnorl. We started out with a nice taxi driver and ended up with a good friend, Thanks Arnorl! ( Celebrity Equinox, Jan 20, 2011)

Dawn and Brian, Albany, NY
Had a great day with Rony Tours! We did a customized tour and got to see a lot of the island. We were on the Carnival Dream in February 2010. Lots of good photo ops. The driver will take you wherever you like. We were trying to find a shop but didn't know where it was. The driver was asking Rony and everyone he knew where it was; he didn't give up until we found it! If you have a place in mind, just write down the exact name and address, this will be very helpful. Sometimes, places are new or have moved. He took us to a nice place for lunch, just tell them what you're in the mood for or a place you have in mind. The driver will wait for you at each stop, you won't feel rushed. He told us about life on the island and we talked about life in the US. It was very nice to get a real feel for the island. I would highly recommend this tour. Just walk out of the Carnival pier area down the hill and say 'Rony', they will have your info and you are on your way. Also, highly recommend stopping at the wild life place for $5, it is worth it and only takes about 15 minutes of your time. Rony's is professional, trustworthy and very reasonably priced. You won't be disappointed. Rony will follow-up with you via email before and after your trip. If you don't receive email from him, resend your email, as email service there is spotty. Don't hang around the Carnival pier all day, it is overpriced and you will not get to experience the island. Although, you will have plenty of time to see the pier when you get back. We spent a little time at Fat Tuesday afterwards and it was a nice end to a spectacular day. Thanks again Rony! (Carnival Dream, Feb 9, 2010)

Emily, Arielle and Tyler USA, Michigan
Hi Rony, Just wanted to let you know we had the best time in Roatan. Michael was our driver and he gave us a fabulous tour of the Island. He was right where he said he would be when we got off the ship and at the end of the tour he dropped us off right at the pier. He was full of information regarding the island. He took us shopping, touring and to a very secluded and beautiful beach with a Tiki bar and we were able to enjoy a fabulous afternoon in the sun. Next time we visit Roatan, we will be using your very reliable company. (Carnival Glory, December 2nd, 2010)

Jarret Christensen and Steve Nissen Alexandria, VA
I want to say again, that we had a great time on our island tour of Roatan with your dad. He was so nice and knowledgeable. What we liked most about the tour is that your dad showed us areas of how the locals live. The exceptional service that your dad provided us was great. Anytime we wanted to stop on our tour for photo opportunities, he did. The "freestyle" tour was exactly that – it let us choose what we wanted to see plus so much more. The sightseeing, shopping, monkey stop, and beach time at West Bay were all wonderful. In fact, we didn’t think we could do everything that we wanted to do, but your dad was great in keeping us on schedule. Again, we really enjoyed our tour and will definitely tell others about your tour company. ( Carnival Glory, December 2nd, 2010)



Colleen Martini and family
Dear Rony,
Thanks for writing because I was going to write you as soon as we got back. We had a great time when we were there last week. First of all I would like to thank you for accommodating us in a change of vehicle. My mom has back issues and just wouldn't be able to sit in the small vehicle with two others in the back seat for the whole tour. I appreciate very much getting a bigger vehicle that made the tour very enjoyable for her. What can we say about Lindy? What a really nice guy! He was very friendly, told us all about the island, cultures, languages, people, food, you name it! And any other questions we had Lindy was more than happy to answer for us. I had asked him to recommend a zip line for us because I was so unsure of which to let my son go on. The one he brought us to was a real blast for my son and after talking to other people, it sounds like it was the best one. Lindy also took us to the Iguana farm and an all around tour of the west end and east side too. We had asked him to take us to a local restaurant for a bite so we could sample local food (we didn't want a big chain or restaurant, we wanted authentic). He took us to Haydees which was absolutely perfect. It was just what we wanted. So as far as Lindy goes, he gets a 4 thumbs up! He was more than willing to take us anywhere we wanted to go. He was really great and we liked him very much. Nice smile, good sense of humor!

As for your tour company, we also have 4 thumbs up! You were very responsive with returning emails and providing information. Your tour is exactly as you advertise it to be. It really was a freestyle tour. I liked the fact that we could decide as we went along the places of interest that we wanted to see. I would reccommend your company to anyone looking for a very good tour for really reasonable prices! I have only one minor negative feedback though. I wish I would have known how far a walk it was to get to your tour. You didn't really state that in the directions. It was no problem for husband, my son or me but it was hard on my mom walking so far and up and over the hill in the heat and humidity. She is 81 and has back issues. I would have gotten a cab for her to get here there. She was getting really winded and was getting fearful of how much farther she was going to have to walk. Other than that, we had a great time and I thank you very much! (Carnival Glory, December 2nd, 2010)

My husband, daughter and I utilized Rony’s Tours, Rony was very easy to communicate with via email and was very responsive to all questions. Arranging the tour was snap. When the ship arrived, we were met promptly be Rony personally. Despite a change in ports due to weather conditions, Rony knew right where to find us! Rony introduced us to his cousin, Michael, our tour guide, who was a joy to be with for the day. Michael transported us in a comfortable, clean, air-conditioned car and was very knowledgeable about the island and it’s history. He took us to all the places we requested and made sure we were treated well. He watched our belongings and suggested sightseeing spots along the way, which were a pleasant addition to our plans. The highlight of our trip was the snorkeling. Michael took us to a secluded spot off the beaten path that was great! He made sure we obtained the vests and flippers we needed and waited while we enjoyed the water. When we were hungry, he suggested a nice open-air lunch spot. Michael really made the day special for us. I cannot recommend Rony and his company enough! They clearly love their island. We will definitely be back to Roatan and will definitely use Rony’s Tours again. You will not be disappointed by your tour . . . Rony is professional and trustworthy and his company is small enough to really are about customer satisfaction. Thank you , Rony! (Carnival Glory, December 2nd, 2010)

Susann Hutt
Roatan was new port of call for us,

Having researched local tours prior to sailing, I discovered many favorable reviews for Rony's...... www.ronystours.com

He offers many choices of tours and we decided on a private tour for my sister and me ($40 each for the entire day). We only wanted to see the island, a few shops, stop at a beach and have lunch. There a many attractions available and you can pick and choose.

We arrived at our meeting point early and Rony was already waiting for us. He is such a warm, charming person, speaks excellent English and is so proud of his island. We had a wonderful tour of the island and it's many neighborhoods. Lots of photo ops and several stops at local shops. We had several choices of beaches and chose West Bay Beach at Bananarama.

He escorted us to the beach and pointed out the various facilities. Bathrooms, dressing areas, showers, massage tables, etc. There was a quite large restaurant & bar (The Thirsty Turtle) with lots of tables and chairs on the beach. Additional lounges closer to the water. The beach and water were just beautiful.

Our waitress, Shanay was great. We asked her recommendation for a good drink . She suggested a Monkey LaLa....it is now my most favorite drink ever! You can even find it on Google. We had the lunch special which was grilled pork with several local sides $7..excellent. and a chicken salad plate $8, also excellent and large portions. I believe the drinks were $5.

Rony checked on us periodically and was right there when we were ready to go. We had a couple photo stops on the way back to the ship and we got back about an hour prior to sailing.

We paid cash at the end of the tour. We had a lovely relaxing and inexpensive day. We learned so much about the area. The beach area at West End Half Moon Bay was beautiful also. Lots of small cabins, cottages, restaurants, dive facilities right at the beach. A lovely little village, perfect for walking or biking.

When we arrived home, we had a welcome home email from Rony, hoping that we had a good trip home and a good experience with him. Roatan is definitely on my "return list" (Carnival Glory, Dec 2nd, 2010)

Harry and Kathy Faust
Hi Rony,

Our trip home was long but fine. As much as we love to travel, we love to return to our home and our family. Thank you so much for arranging for us to have Lindy as a guide for the day. He was wonderful and we so enjoyed all of the information he shared with us about Roatan. You have a beautiful island and our visit there was a highlight of our cruise. We hope to return again because we know there is so much more to see. We were happy that we found your company on the internet and again we must say how much we enjoyed Lindy. He took us everywhere and gave us a fabulous tour of the island. (Carnival Glory, Dec 2nd, 2010)

Bonnie and Dan Coulter
If you really want to experience the island of Roatan, take one of Rony's Tours! We were a little hesitant to book with Rony's since we hadn't been to Roatan before and had heard stories of people booking with island tour operators and missing the ship . Boy are we happy we did. Rony emailed us and told us exactly where to go when we got off the ship to meet our tour guide. We were happily greeted by Rony's father, Cameron, (see picture) and he was our guide for the day. We did the Freestyle/On your own tour. He let us tell him what we would like to see, how long we wanted to stay and what time we wanted to be back at the ship! We had an AWESOME day. He watched over us at every stop. Making sure we were O.K on the beach, getting correct prices at the stores, and seeing all that their beautiful island has to offer. Rony himself even came to the beach to meet us and shake our hands. The price of this tour was about a 1/3 of what the Cruise Line charges for an ALL DAY TOUR, and we designed it. Rony even followed up with us when we got home to make sure we were home safely. Talk about Excellent Customer Service. I will be back to the beautiful island of Roatan and maybe check out Rony's dad's favorite fishing spot! :) (Carnival Valor, November 3rd, 2010)

Lenora and Mickey Grackin
We had a wonderful tour with you in October when we were in Roatan on the Celebrity Solstice. Our day on Roatan was the best day of our cruise. The island was lush and beautiful and we enjoyed exploring the whole island with you. The iguana farm was very interesting and the snorkeling was the best of our whole trip. We enjoyed getting to know you and visiting your mom's restaurant. Thank you for such a memorable day. I am sending some pictures, including the one with you and your mom. We would love to return to Roatan some day. If we do so, I hope we can meet with you again. I am sending 10 pictures attached to this email. If you do not get them all, please let me know. Also, if you have a facebook page, you can friend me (Lenora Grackin) and you can also look at the whole album from our trip there and take any photos you like. (October 12 2010, Celebrity Solstice)

Kevin, Kristi and Kassidy.
Thank you for making our trip to Roatan so wonderful! We had such a great time and we will never forget the day we spent there. We can't wait to come back and visit sometime. We will definitely contact you on our next trip to your country. Thanks again for all of your help. It was such a pleasure meeting you and Roosmarie!We're telling all of our friends to be sure and use Rony's Independent Tours for their visit to Roatan. (Norwegian Epic, September 7 2010)

Pam & Weldon Ballard
"We had a great time using RonY tour's in Roatan. Francisco was our guide and he was great. We loved the Island and plan to return and will use RonY's on our next trip." Merced CA. Carnival Dream, Feb 9, 2011)

 

 


 

Hey Rony!
Thanks for the great tour that you gave Scott, me and our friends Neal and Kerri last week. It was better than we could have imagined. Roatan was our favorite stop on the cruise. Your island is simply beautiful, and the people are so kind and friendly. We appreciated your knowledge, professionalism, humor and willingness to answer all of our many questions. We can't wait until we can come back and see you again. We'll give you some notice so that you can whip us up some iguana stew!
Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bruner


Rony;
Thanks for a wonderful time when my wife and I visited Roatan on Friday, Dec. 4. After seeing, we can understand why you are so proud of where you come from. The island is beautiful and the beach at Half-Moon Bay was amazing. I was able to snorkel right from the dock, and she was able to swim as much as she wanted too. The monkey stop was also great fun.
Michael, our driver, was great. He really showed us the island and took great care of us. My wife especially appreiated him stopping and letting us shop for coffee. She made a pot of Cafe de Oro this morning and loved it.
Michael and Lorie Stone
Columbia, South Carolina

Our trip back home was good (except to find snow here at home) and our cruise was great. All 3 of us agree that our tour with you was the highlight of our 7-day cruise. Thank you so much for being our guide around Roatan. the other lady who was with us was Gwynn's cousin who we don't get to see very often since she lives in Texas and we live in Ohio. His cousin has e-mailed us several times since we have been home to tell us she can't stop talking about Roatan to all of her friends in Texas and tells them they must get to Roatan before the island changes any more.

Please know that of all the tour guides we have ever had on all of the islands we've ever visited on a cruise, you ae the best we have ever had. You are a very special person. You have the personality, the professional quality and the humor to make anyone who uses you as a tour guide a great day.
I have recommended you several times on Cruise Critic and will continue to recommend you on the cruise website to anyone looking for a guide for Roatan.
Gwynn and I both hope to get back to Roatan within the next year or two and will be sure to contact you again as a guide.
Keep up the great work you do and keep that great sense of humor you have. You have it all together to build a great tour company, Rony, and I am so happy that we have met you.
Dianne


Hi Rony! We had a nice trip back, no problems. However we were not happy leaving the warm weather!
We wanted to let you know that Roatan was our favorite port during the cruise. Michael was such a great tour guide! We learned so much about your country and saw so many interesting things. We especially appreciated Michael showing us Half Moon Bay even though it wasn't on the agenda. The restaurant was so delicious and we loved the snorkeling. What a beautiful place!
Sara and Dave Wollgast :-)


 

Rony-
Thanks so much for your welcome home email. We arrived safely back home to Wisconsin late Saturday night. I want to thank you and Felix again for the wonderful day we spent on your island. Felix took such great care of us, he made our visit truly memorable!
We wished that we could have stayed longer since the Carnival Dream never pulled out of port until Wednesday morning. We will definitely be back, Roatan is very beautiful and Felix was wonderful host. I will post my review of our cruise on CruiseCritic.com in the next few days, and will highly recommend your touring company to everyone. If you want to read my review my name on Cruise Critic is Suzieqk.
If you and your family or Felix and his family ever visit the US and find yourselves in Wisconsin, we would be honored to show you our state and how we live.
Thank you again for your hospitality, we learned a lot about your beautiful country.
Jim and Sue Kurovsky


Rony's tours, a day in paradise
My wife and I, plus another couple, off the Carnival Valor had read about Rony's tours, and decided to go with him the day we were on Roatan. We're glad we did. Rony meet us just outside the gates of the Carnival dock, as his instructions directed. We found him to be very polite, humorous, and very knowledgeable about Roatan. We had done a lot of reading about all of the ports we would be stopping, so had some ideas of where we wanted to go. We started the day off zip lining at South Shore . Quite exhilarating! We can't compare to the other zip lines companies, but the views were great and we felt very safe.
Next we wanted to do some off shore snorkeling and Rony suggested we try West Bay Beach at BananaRama area. He lead us to the beach area that had a few small boats that rent out by the hour. We negotiated with one of the operators for the four of us ( he started at $25 pp for the hour, we ended up with $16 pp for the hour, plus tip). This ended up being the best of the snorkeling we had done on any of the other two ports (Grand Cayman & Belize), we snorkeled. The guide took us out to the local snorkel area, about five minutes away, toward an opening in the reef, marked by a bouy. We found large numbers of fish, and a then a vertical wall of about 20 foot, with clear visibility to the bottom. It was fantastic!
Afterwards, we showered off at the beach shower, Rony then asked if we wanted to eat there, but we wanted to try something less "touristy" and more 'local'. Rony asked if we wanted to try his sister's restaurant. We weren't sure want to expect, but this turned out to be one of the highlights of our week. His sister was in Canada that week, so the restaurant, 'Taste of Paradise', was being managed by his mom. This was a great experience. I had conch, first time for me, and it was great, and very inexpensive (about $8). We talked with his mom for a while and got great insights from her perspective, to the life on the island. We only wish we had more time to spend, but we were only in port for seven hours and needed to get back to the ship. A very good day in paradise! If anyone has questions, you can e-mail me, Cal, at: h2odad96@aol.com


We just returned from a cruise a couple of weeks ago. Roatan was the stop we were least excited about. I do NOT like to participate in the ship excursions because of the large group experience. My young family wanted to do a zip line, and ride horses on the beach. We heard about Rony through a message board, and decided to take a personalized tour from him. For a very reasonable rate, Rony drove us wherever we wanted to go. We were able to see much more of the island than we would have through a canned tour. His commentary was enlightening. I highly recommend taking a tour from Rony. I was a little leery of booking with somebody I had never met, but after a few minutes Rony will not be a stranger.
Brad Laures
Superintendent
Lisbon Community School District
319-455-2075

Hello Rony:
It's hard to believe that a week has already gone by since we visited your beautiful island! Tony was a fantastic tour guide! Thank you and Tony very much for a wonderful tour. Our family enjoyed each and every stop we made. We all enjoyed the monkeys, one of the highlights and many good jokes to be made when one crawled inside of my shirt!
The beach was also beautiful. Our son's enjoyed snorkling and finding the different sea life they saw. My wife also enjoyed the massage she received from Cynthia. I wish our cruise stayed in your island longer because it would have been nice to explore a little more.
I have attached some pictures from our trip and will definitely leave a good word on the Cruise Critic website regarding your tours!
Thanks again and hope to visit your beautiful island again some day in the future.
Ken, Deb, Kenny, Scott, Mom and George
Nov 24, 09

Hello Rony:
Trip home was OK - spent a couple of days visiting friends in Florida before driving back to North Carolina.
Thank you for a wonderful day - we really enjoyed seeing your home Country of Roatan and definitely want to go back (hopefully for longer than 5 hours).
Now we have to get back to the real World!
We wish you well for your future and, who knows, we may see you again............when you are Mayor of Roatan!!
When I get a chance, and time, to get on the various web sites, I will be sure to recommend your business.
Good luck and best wishes,
Harold & Linda
Nov 20, 09

Dear Rony,

We can not even begin to express how thankful we were to have met our guide, Francisco, on our recent trip to Roatan. The island is more beautiful than we could have ever imagined. Francisco was polite, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to make our visit special. My fiance' and I were able to do all that we wanted- and much more. Because of our private tour of the island with Francisco, we felt like we were royalty. He introduced us to many local people, including some business owners. He also made sure that we received excellent treatment at every location, and even gave us personalized tours of all of the areas we wanted to visit. We were able to visit the iguana farm, where Francisco escorted us to meet the monkey, Paco. He also took pictures of us all day at several spots, including in front of Fantasy Island. As he drove us around, he explained the rich history of the island and of the mainland Honduras. We had an unforgettable trip to a local school, where we interacted with 5th and 6th grade students. We learned about your leaders and the even the flag. We were able to buy fresh mango in the local market, walk along secluded beaches, glimpse the dolphin show, see amazing overlooks, shop, and we even touched some sleeping grass. Francisco made the island feel like home, and we are both absolutely in love with Roatan. He made special arrangements for us to zipline, which was an added treat. We also received incredible service from our guides, Frank and Tyron, at South Shore. Please share this review with Francisco, and tell him that we had an amazing time and after our day together, we consider him family! We both would love to hear from him so feel free to pass on our email address. Anyhow, I am so glad we took a personal tour with your company and would be more than happy to share our experience with anyone looking for a reference!

Becky Smith and Ben Ross
Wyandotte, Michigan


We just had a tour with Rony on July 31st 2009. There were 4 adults and 2 children. We all enjoyed our tour very much. Rony was very friendly and informative. He built a tour on what we wanted and suggested things along the way. It was just the tour we wanted. We are very pleased we had the chance to tour the island with Rony. We would recommend him to everyone.
Thanks, Tonya


Rony, thanks much for a wonderful tour of Roatan. The references on Cruise Critic that lead us to you all proved true and we appreciate the great service and will definitely call on you again next time in Roatan. After the cruise we asked our group of 12 what was their favorite stop and they said Roatan, no doubt because of the ease of getting around and doing fun things with your help as well as the many great things Roatan as to offer. I hope more cruise ships make Roatan a stop (and that we have more time on island too!) so that this nice place can be shared with others, and I hope that it is done in such a way as to preserve and improve upon its beauty, support a healthy community there, and assure the sustainability of its environment in the process.
Wishing you all the best,
Joe Stagner
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Date of Visit: July 29, 2009 "


In Roatan we arranged for a private guide with Rony's Independent Tours: http://ronystours.com/
Rony used to work on a cruiseship -- his English is perfect; he is charming, flexible, knowledgeable; and put together an inexpensive, perfect day for us. We really felt like we'd had a good taste of th is wonderful is land. Be sure to visit West Bay (his website offers a l is t of options to choose from to put together your personalized tour). West Bay reminds me of what I imagine the Florida Keys were like 50 years ago -- simple, beautiful, dirt roads, cool bars and restaurants -- a lot of fun. Even a Tiki Bar built on a catamaran that floats in the bay. The craft shop there had nicer things and better prices than any of the others we stopped at. We also visited the orphanage on the island (we brought some little toys for all the kids). I'd skip the monkey place -- kind of sad, aggressive monkeys in a cage you can walk into. Wanted to see the cameo factory but it was closed -- saw some stuff made there -- really interesting and impressive! Had a great lunch at a place right on the water ... it was the only port of call that left me thinking that we would like to go back and spend a week! Rony is very responsive by email and was waiting right where he said he would be -- compare his prices to a Carnival excursion.... can’t beat it! And -- you get to spend the day with someone who grew up on Roatan, and knows lots of cool spots and history.
Nancy.

Rony contacted me immediately after I sent a request via the website, he answered all my questions and was very accommodating for my request for our upcoming trip to Roatan.  I would recommend him to be your guide while visiting Roatan.  We are looking forward to our trip to Roatan in September and we know it is going to be a great trip because wonderful service from Rony's tours.

April Baggett

We just came back from Roatan on the Voyager. Several groups on our cruise critic group were booking tours with Victor Bodden but the tour descriptions seemed pre determined. I contacted Rony Bennett of Rony's tour after reading posts here and viewing his web site. The website had a lot of information about the island, Rony's biography, suggested tours and places of interest. Rony grew up on Roatan and worked 4 years on Celebrity Ships. He was noticed by the cruise director for his easy interaction with the guests and was promoted to the Activities staff.

I emailed Rony, got prompt replies and explained that not only did we not know whether we would be 2 or 4 people, but that I we wanted to wait till we got there to decide what interested us. "No problem" was the reply.

Rony was there to meet us at the pier, (even though we slept in and didn't get to the pier until 10.30), we discussed our options and included, shopping (wife's suggestion), East End villages (my suggestion), great seafood lunch (everyone's idea) and ending at a quiet picture perfect beach. Rony turned out to be a great guide, took us to shops that were clean, and staffed by very friendly clerks and had high quality well priced gifts. The island is beautiful, we had several great picture stops, and best of all we never ran into crowds. The east end is undiscovered and somewhat primitive but you get to see what Roatan is like for the locals before the condo's arrive in a few years. My suggestion for lunch in Oakridge turned out to be a dud. but Rony saved the day with a great restaurant in West Bay. We ended the day with an hour or so swim at a beautiful beach. Rony was always available, absolutely trustworthy, very personable, funny, and everyone on the island seemed to greet him by name. Be sure to ask him about the pet iguana 'Speedy'. 

Our friends on the other tours enjoyed their time but were jealous when we described the personal attention we received and the flexibility of Rony to accommodate our interests as the day progressed.

Mike Sparks

We spent an excellent day with Michael on February 23rd. His command of English was excellent and he was willing to tell us all about Honduras and Roatan and answered our many questions. I have posted in a couple of threads on the Cruise Critic web site. Here are some of the photos that we took. We enjoyed our lunch at Bertie's.

Michael was terrific and we are glad that we booked your tour and will recommend it to anyone.

John and Brenda Grady
Merrimack, New Hampshire
USA
Feb 23, 09

We just returned form a cruise on Feb.22 - March 1 on the Norwegian Pearl.

After reading all the reviews here I decided to book a tour in Roatan with Rony. For some reason Victor Bodden did not appeal to me, maybe because I did not want to go his house and play with monkeys!

It turned out to be a great choice. Rony is a wonderful, pleasant and knowledgeable guide. After emailing him, I was surprised to receive a phone call from him from the Honduras to confirm our tour. Then on the arranged day and time he was waiting for us at the pier and the 4 of us began our tour in a nice clean car with A/C.

He accommodated all our wishes and suggestions and we all had a delicious lunch at Half Moon Cabins overlooking the sea.

We went to a local school to distribute some pens and Rony told us that this was the school he had attended so it held special memories for him.

I had emailed him about going to the Mayan Princess Resort at the end of the day and when we got there we found out that he had pre-booked us for entry into the resort. It began to rain unfortunately, but no problem - Rony opened the trunk and took out several large umbrellas! We never got wet!

All the while Rony told us some funny stories - ask him about his nickname in school and above all you must hear the story about how he "accidently" ate his friend's pet iguana for dinner!!

Rony has already emailed us to say hi and to find out how our trip home was. We all highly recommend spending the day in Roatan with this terrific guide and we hope to see him again should a future cruise bring us back to Roatan.

Celina

Rony,
I just wanted to say again how much we appreciated everything you did for my family and I on our recent visit to Roatan (March 2009).  Our visit to your beautiful island was one of the highlights of our week of cruising.  Your friendly approach and attitude, along with your knowledge and connections certainly made us feel like we were in good hands.

My two teenage daughters, wife and I continue to talk about our Zipline adventure (Mayan Jungle) and the hours we spent on the ‘postcard-like’ beach at West Bay.  I’ve enclosed a few of our favourite photos.

Hiring your services for the day, for the reasonable rates that you charge, takes away a lot of the uncertainty and worry. Having you along as our ‘minder’, allowed us to do things at the Zipline and at the beach, as a family while you were watching our personal belongings.  Saves me paying to bring my mother-in-law to watch the stuff!

We look forward to visiting you again on our next visit to Roatan and plan to see more Canadians coming to see you based on how much my wife is raving about you and Roatan.

Thanks Rony,

Mark Wallis
Milton, Canada

 


Contact Us

Check with Your long distance carrier for International Rates to Roatan!

From the US, Please dial 011 first.
Cell phone (504) 9884-6357
Home(504) 2445- 0151 (evenings)

 

 
 
Home | Tour Description | Excursions/Rates | Rony's Roatan | Reviews | Book Excursion | Contact

Copyright ronystours.com 2009-2011. All Rights Reserved.